The Awesome Blogger Award

Processed with Rookie Cam

Hello Everyone! Another award today – The Awesome Blogger Award. I am starting to really LOVE our (not so) little blogging community, you are all amazing! I was nominated for this award by Yesha @ Books Teacup and Reviews and you can read her answers for this award HERE. Thank you so much for the nomination!


This Award was created by Maggie @ Dreaming of Guatemala and she said:

This is an award for the absolutely wonderful writers all across the blogging world. They have beautiful blogs, are kind and lovely, and always find a way to add happiness and laughter to the lives of their readers. That is what truly defines an awesome blogger.

The Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Include the reason behind the award.
  • Include the banner in your post.
  • Tag it under #awesomebloggeraward in the Reader.
  • Answer the questions your nominator gave you.
  • Nominate at least 5 awesome bloggers.
  • Give your nominees 10 new questions to answer.
  • Let your nominees know that they’ve been nominated!

My questions from Yesha:

  1. First book you read.

The first book that I can remember reading on my own is The Velveteen Rabbit, although I know that I was read Shel Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends and I’ll love You Forever by Robert Munsch on a regular basis – so I’m going to assume that I was reading those pretty early too!

If this was meant to be what was the first book I read for my book blog, then it was Pam Jenhoff’s The Orphan’s Tale. It’s amazing. I’ve read it again since. I highly recommend checking it out.

  1. Genre you hate.

Wooo, I’m pretty diverse in my reading habits so I can’t really pinpoint one genre or another that I absolutely hate. But, I do have a really hard time with books depicting, or rather trying to force, very specific gender roles. Woman get in your place just doesn’t fly in my world… nor does the man will work and protect. Ugh.

  1. What makes you comment on any blog post?

Anything that makes me laugh. If I get my giggle on I can resist hitting up that comment box.

  1. How do you manage your followers? Do you read all the post of blogs you follow? (I’m curious, I find it very hard to read each and every post. It takes lot of time so I want to know how you guys are managing.)

Ah, sadly I must admit that I do not read each and every one of the blog posts for those that I follow. If someone posts multiple times in a day, I do tend to read the ones about the books that I think I will enjoy. I also tend to avoid cover reveals (sorry!). I do, however, seek out author Q & A and excerpt posts as I really enjoy them.

  1. Do you use digital planner or keep diary? (I need a paper taped on wall that stays in front of my eyes or else I’ll forget.)

A mix of both? Maybe? I keep flip-flopping between the two and seem to have everything duplicated in both. Right now I’m mostly doing everything online as I can more easily manage my work/ blog balance as my boss is a pretty heavy Google Calendar user.

  1. What type of book/genre you find most difficult to review?

Biographies and autobiographies. I really struggle with reading the first-person perspective – either I love it or I hate it. And then, I always struggle with the inherent challenges of autobiography such as aging recall, bias in memory, and the glossing over and/ or enhancing of controversial facts for a desired effect. Even if I really love a biography, I always hesitate to review as it represents a ‘truth’ and I never believe that there is just one.

  1. Are you participating in reading challenges currently? Which one and where?

The only reading challenge that I am currently participating in is the Goodreads one. I’ve set myself a challenge of 90 books this year, but have the habit of forgetting to add them to my read list so it always looks terrible!

  1. Memes / any bookish feature that you enjoy doing.

Eeep! I think the only memes I do are when I thank people for sharing on twitter! Sorry for the lame-o answer on this one.

  1. Do you collect anything other than books?

Lols – More books. No, seriously. I have a massive antiquarian book collection. Mostly history books and scientific dictionaries with a smattering of classical literature. But I think you could say that I collect book bindings. I am fascinated with the de/construction of books and the ways in which they are decorated. Oh, and fairy tales. I collect fairytales from the around the world.

  1. Tell us something about yourself?

I am an elementary school librarian, passionate freedom to read advocate, and am proud to be a part of the transition of libraries from staid repositories of books to community centres and hubs for the creation of information. Oh, and I love working with teenagers – they are my favourite age group to run programming for. I love reading YA but I rarely get the chance to talk books with my teens, and I’m perfectly fine with that! I may also give sneaky information literacy, media literacy, and research methods mini-lessons whenever I have an opportunity and an open ear. My partner is sick of it, I’m sure, but I think that everyone should be able to spot fake news and identify bias in reporting.


My Questions:

  1. When reviewing a book, are you a note taker? If so, do you prefer print, mobile, or a computer to help you out?
  2. What’s your favourite genre to read? And is it the same as your favourite genre to review?
  3. How do you maintain your blog tour and personal TBR balance?
  4. Do you have a favourite blog tour that you’ve taken part in? If so, what was your role on the tour and what made it so enjoyable.
  5. What’s your favourite vacation spot? Is it the same as your dream vacation spot?
  6. If you were given a million dollars, what’s the first thing you would do with it?
  7. When buying books, do you go in with a plan or fly by the seat of your pants?
  8. What’s your favourite book series?
  9. If you could choose any skill to master, what would it be?
  10. What book best describes your life right now?

My Nominees

Abby @ Anne Bonny Book Reviews

Amy @ Novel Gossip

Eva @ Novel Deelights

Tina @ Reading Between the Pages

Christine @ Northern Crime 


Thank you again Yesha for the nomination!

4 thoughts on “The Awesome Blogger Award

  1. Thank you for the nomination! I have a reallly old copy of The Velveteen Rabbit…love.
    Fairytales around the world. What a fun thing I collect. Just a thought, someday you should do a blog post and pic of them. I’ve love to see your collection 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: What makes you happy? – everywhere and nowhere

Leave a Reply

