#Review #Blog Tour: Nemesister by Sophie Jonas-Hill @sophiejonashill @urbanebooks

Today it’s my turn on the Nemesister blog tour, and I am so thrilled as this my first ever blog tour! Many thanks to Abby Fairbrother for inviting me to join as Nemesister was absolutely outstanding and had me on my toes the entire time.

blogtournemesister


nemesisterTitle: Nemesister

Author: Sophie Jonas-Hill

Publisher: Urbane Publications

Publication Date: July 6, 2017

Genre: Fiction, Thriller, Suspense, Crime Fiction

Themes: Family, Revenge, Strong Female Protagonist, Amnesia

Features: N/A


Synopsis

From Goodreads…

It’s a psychological mystery where the female protagonist stumbles into a deserted shack with no memory but a gun in her hand. There she meets an apparent stranger, Red, and the two find themselves isolated and under attack from unseen assailants.

Barricaded inside for a sweltering night, cabin fever sets in and brings her flashes of insight which might be memory or vision as the swamp sighs and moans around her.

Exploring in the dark she finds hidden keys that seem to reveal her identity and that of her mysterious host, but which are the more dangerous – the lies he’s told her, or the ones she’s told herself?


My Review

If I could say just two words about Nemesister they would be READ IT! But, that would completely defeat the purpose of participating in a blog tour so I’m going to try and say as much as I can without any spoilers. Nemesister is the kind of thriller that keeps you on your toes and always guessing what is coming next. This intense psychological thriller is a must read for those that loves some twists and turns, and especially for those that love characters with inexcusable flaws.

Let’s start at the beginning though – I just couldn’t get enough of that opening! The description was so enticing, well written, and shrouded in mystery that I was absolutely hooked from the first few sentences. I could feel the southern heat, Margarita’s fear, and genuinely thought that the encounter with Red was absolutely happenstance. And the best part? Even though Nemesister started out on a high point it just kept gaining momentum.

The intertwining of the elements of memory and flashbacks, evocation of the senses, and meticulous description worked to create the kind of narrative that you have to stop and think about as you move along. More than once I found myself staring at the pages open-mouthed and dumbfounded only to be rapidly burning through the pages to find out what happened next. I found myself constantly questioning what was actually happening and what was being remembered, but the fluidity of the shifts between tenses was not only beautifully done but really worked to recreate the experience of someone regaining memory after a trauma. As a reader, I felt that I was experiencing the same confusion and remembrance as Margarita and appreciated the way in which those memories affected the situations that she was facing.

The characters were just the right levels of twisted, WTF, and entirely believable. And, the ending was one that I really wasn’t expecting. Seriously, who licks up blood?! I threw my book (okay, my kindle) across the room I was so horrified. Obviously I picked it up and kept reading because you can’t not keep reading after something like that, but man do I love it when you really don’t see something coming. The structure comes together like a beautiful jigsaw where the final piece is a resounding OMG!

Word of warning though, I enjoy profanity in books, particularly when it is character and situation appropriate. For those that take offence at the presence of swears, this book won’t be for you. But for everyone else, the language and use of southern drawl created a tense, believable, and in my opinion highly realistic atmosphere. Lets face it, if I woke up in a backwater fishing shack, having been shot and devoid of my memory I would be swearing like a sailor too!

Would I recommend this book? Oh, heck yes! Don’t wait too long to pick your copy up, or else you’ll risk friends, family, and very likely the internet letting the cat(s) out of the bag and minimizing the thrill.


Many thanks to Sophie Jonas-Hill and Urbane Publications for providing an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review, and to Abby Fairbrother (@annebonnybook) for inviting me to join my very first Blog Tour.

4 thoughts on “#Review #Blog Tour: Nemesister by Sophie Jonas-Hill @sophiejonashill @urbanebooks

Leave a Reply

