Out of the frying pan… and into the fire

So, this is it. After years of reading book blogs, slogging through an MLIS, and constantly passing my precious books out amongst friends I have finally taken the plunge and decided to give my own book blog an honest try. Sure, I know that there are tons of book blogs out there and endless internet famous reviewers bot sometimes it’s worth it to do things anyways.

The idea is this – read books (lots of them), maybe even watch a few movie adaptations, and then attempt to write reviews that balance those dry professional assessments with my personal interpretations to put forward something a little bit more useful than my own aesthetic. It sounds simple enough, but I know that I have my work cut out for me!

As for the type of books that I’ll be reviewing, I love everything. Seriously. Fiction, non-fiction, crime, thrillers, classical literature, YA, dystopian futures, and the list goes on. I basically stay away from children’s and picture books, as well as harlequin romance and other works that could be classed in the same categories. Perhaps over time we will find that a direction develops for the genre of books that I review, but for now I am keeping the spectrum broad.

I’m not perfect, this I know. I type fast, make mistakes, and sometimes I’m too lazy to edit and review. But I’m trying. And for now I’m going to say that’s all that counts. But, I will also say that I thrive off constructive criticism (no flaming please!), am always open to suggestions (for both book recommendations and content adjustments), and will strive to create blog that can genuinely be enjoyed by whatever audience I manage to attract.

And so… It’s out of the frying pan and into the fire for me!

– J.M.

Up Next: The Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenhoff

Leave a Reply

